White home icon
Silhouette of a man
White catalog icon
Get Involved
Finding Your Legislator Tool
It is important to know who represents you at the local, state, and federal levels of government. Here is a tool to help you find your Nevada legislators, congressional representative, and Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHE) Board of Regents representative. It is quick and easy. Simply use your address or the interactive map to get a list of your representatives. You will also find District Maps and contact information.
Find Your Legislator
*Information is provided by the Research Division of the Legislative Counsel Bureau.
About Nevada Senate District 18

Nevada State Senate District 18 encompasses the northwestern edge of the Las Vegas Valley in Clark County, which includes parts of Summerlin, Skye Canyon, Centennial Hills, and North Las Vegas. The district lies entirely within Nevada’s 4th congressional district and overlaps with the 4th and 13th districts of the Nevada Assembly. Here are some key details about this district:

  • Incumbent: The seat for Nevada State Senate District 18 is currently vacant. The last representative was Scott Hammond
  • Population Representation: As of the 2020 Census, Nevada state senators represented an average of 148,022 residents. After the 2010 Census, each member represented 129,021 residents.
  • Term Limits: Nevada state senators serve four-year terms with term limits. They assume office on the first Wednesday after the first Monday in November following election day.
  • Qualifications: To be eligible to serve in the Nevada State Senate, a candidate must:
  1. Reside within the boundaries of the district where they plan to run for office.
  2. Be a qualified elector according to the Nevada Constitution.
  3. Be a registered member of the party they claim to represent.
  • Salary: During legislative sessions, legislators receive a per diem of approximately $130 per legislative day (between $10,000 - $15,600). The Nevada legislature convenes only in odd-numbered years for 120 days.
  • Term Limits: Nevada senators are subject to term limits of no more than three four-year terms, totaling twelve years.